My Facebook Login Page

Guyana can now have more modern laws -as Law Reform Commission Bill passed

unnamed (16)

Georgetown : The National Assembly last evening was passed the Law Reform Commission Bill 2015 that seeks to establish a Law Reform Commission.

As outlined in the explanatory memorandum of the Bill, this commission seeks to undertake the reform of development of all the laws applicable to Guyana, by way of modification of branches of the law. 

The elimination of anomalies, the repeal of obsolete and unnecessary enactments, the reduction of the number of separate enactments, and generally the simplification and modernisation of the law are also functions of this commission.

Presenting the Bill for its second reading, Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs Basil Williams told the House that this was another promise by the government and which it is seeking to fulfill.

The Attorney General further explained that the bill is simple and one that is critical since updating laws and making them modern are in keeping with international best practices.


The Minister in his argument referred to the motion presented to the National Assembly on March 2008 by the late former Member of the Parliament for the then PNCR – 1G, Deborah Backer. This motion was thrown out then as the now opposition held the reins of power.


According to the AG, the Bill was returned to the House due to the government’s interest in passing this essential piece of legislation.


Minister of Public Security Khemraj Ramjattan also rose in support of the Bill as he explained to the House that consultations were held on it. “It is years late in the coming, let us not delay it any further,” he said as he urged the opposition to support the passage of the legislation.


The AG and government were commended for bringing the Bill to the National Assembly by opposition Members Anil Nandlall and Priya Manickchand, who however voted against it at the end.


The Bill was examined clause by clause in committee stage before passage in the National Assembly.