My Facebook Login Page

CPL announced the names of coaches

Port of Spain.

 The Caribbean Pemier League (CPL)  announced the country assignments for the 12 franchise players six West Indian and six international  and named the six head coaches and six assistant coaches at a recent  press briefing in Trinidad attended by four of the coaches and chaired by CPL Operations Manager Carlisle Powell.

The Operations Manager revealed that the former Australian wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist will be  unable to participate in the CPL due to an ankle injury, he will be replaced by Shoaib Malik from Pakistan.

Marlon Samuels and Ricky Ponting will play for Antigua; Kieron Pollard and Shoaib Malik will suit up for Barbados; Sunil Narine and Mohammad Hafeez will represent the Guyana franchise; Chris Gayle and Muttiah Muralitharan will play for Jamaica; Darren Sammy and Herschelle Gibbs will sport the St Lucia colours; and Dwayne Bravo and Ross Taylor will head up the Trinidad and Tobago franchise team.

Former West Indies captain Sir Vivian Richards will be the coach of Antigua,  assisted by former England cricketer, Dominican born Phillip DeFreitas.

Legendary opening West Indies batsman Desmond Haynes will coach Barbados along with Trinidadian born Robin Singh, who played cricket for India and coached the Mumbai Indians in the IPL.

Guyana will be guided by former West Indies off-spinner and coach  Roger Harper,  former West Indies fast bowler Curtly Ambrose will work along with Harper,

Former England wicketkeeper/batsman Paul Nixon will coach Jamaica, assisted by Junior Bennett, who has many years’ experience coaching the Jamaica Under 19 and national teams.

  Andy Roberts the fearsome West Indian fast bowler of the 1970s and early 1980s will coach St. Lucia along with  former England cricketer Matthew Maynard; and Trinidad & Tobago will be led by Renowned West Indies opening batsman Gordon Greenidge and Assisted by Trinidadian Coach David Williams.